hit it outta the ballpark!

As I promised, here is the cheesecake recipe. It was a huge hit! In fact last night I heard Noel downstairs in the kitchen making some racket, so I tiptoe down the stairs, and peek my head around the corner and he is cutting himself another piece of cheesecake. He always tries to sneak more dessert or our dinner leftovers and I always catch him… Silly man. You are not very sneaky hunny, momma bear will catch you!!

Ingredients:


2 8oz. containers of cream cheese, softened
12 oz. frozen whipped topping, thawed
12oz. package vanilla wafers, crushed (I used Nilla wafers)
Half cup butter, melted
1 cup plus 2 TBSP sugar, divided

(Optional: fresh raspberries)

Directions:

Combine the vanilla wafers, 2 TBSP sugar and butter; press into the bottom of a 13”x9” baking pan.  In a separate bowl, blend together remaining sugar and cream cheese; fold in whipped topping.  Spread over wafer crust; chill until firm.  (I put my cheesecake in the fridge at 10am and it was perfect at 6:45pm, so I am not sure exactly how long you would need it in the fridge to get that firmness you desire.  I imagine at least 3 hours.)  Garnish with fresh raspberries, if desired.  Serves 12 to 15 people, depending on how big or small your slices are.

Instead of the raspberries on top, I bought some strawberries and sliced them (also, I added some splenda on top to give them an extra sweetness), then added them to the cheesecake after each cheesecake square was plated. Looked very elegant and tasted like a normal round cheesecake would… I will definitely be making this dessert again this summer!  Perhaps for 4th of July, with some blueberries and raspberries??

One of my favorite parts during our day is bathtime.  Kellan is so calm and loves having bubbles all around him… one sad thing about bathtime is that every night he seems to be getting bigger and bigger in his little whale tub and soon we will have to take out the “newborn” insert… mommy is resisting to do that.  I want him to stay small and be my little baby forever… I snapped a few photos of my little man:

got one of our cat, Braden using the uhhh Bumbo? … ummmm that’s not for you, but thanks for the photo-op

One thought on “hit it outta the ballpark!

Leave a Reply

