Extra sweet treat

Last Friday, before we left for the wedding mini-vaca-2-day-extravaganza, I got up early to make some homemade strawberry muffins. I spent a long time searching online for the perfect recipe and made sure I had all the ingredients in my cupboards, then I was good to go! So, early Friday morning, I awoke, had my nice warm cup of coffee with cinnamon-apple creamer and started baking…

The ingredients are:
– 2 eggs  (I used 4 egg whites and only 1 yolk)
– 2/3 cup sugar  (I used Splenda)
– 1/2 cup milk  (I used skim milk)
– 1/4 cup plain yogurt  (I used vanilla “CarbMaster” yogurt, worked just fine)
– 1 teaspoon vanilla
– 1/2 stick butter, melted and cooled  (I used CRISCO, that’s the real baking stuff, I love that stuff!)
– 2 cups flour
– 1 tablespoon baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon salt
– 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
– 1 1/2 cups strawberries, hulled and cut in chunks  (I used more strawberries, at least two cups if not more)

The directions are:
1.  Preheat oven to 375°F. Grease muffin tins or line with paper cups.  (I just used Pam spray on the muffin tins, because I had no paper cups, me!  That was a first, and felt really odd, but they turned out just yummy and perfect non-the-less!)

2.  In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs and sugar until light. Add milk, yogurt, vanilla, and melted butter. Gently whisk.

3.  In another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add to milk mixture and stir just until flour disappears. Gently stir in berries.

4.  Spoon thick batter into muffin cups to the top. Bake about 25 minutes, until tester comes out clean. Invert and cool on rack.  (My bake time was 20 minutes, and they were perfect!)

This recipe said it made 12 muffins, however I made 16, and when I make this recipe again, I will definitely fill the muffin tins not so high because they rise significantly and it was hard to get them out of their individual slots.  Also, while I was slowly spooning the batter into the muffin tins, Noel walks in and suggests I add some white chocolate chips.  *LIGHTBULB*  Ahh, yes, thank you hunny, so for half the batch there was an extra sweet treat inside.  And it was delicious!  Oh, and the recipe is called “Strawberry Cinnamon Muffins”… always forget that part.

I brought them with us and gave some to my family for the car-ride over to Federal Way, and they looooved them!  (Almost as much as Noel.)  Afterall, when you shop at Costco you end up buying way more than you can actually eat, especially for food that will perish and die, so why not bake something sweet with all those strawberries and share them with everyone?  Made our road trip a little bit sweeter, pun intended.

Leave a Reply

