sliced, mashed & punched

Yesterday was a day full of peaches, nectarines, tomatoes, onions, bell peppers and pears!  It was a canning day!!  My two sister in laws, Melissa and Leah as well as my Mother in law, Pam, and myself decided to get together for a day of canning.  We laughed, we talked, we peeled, cored, sliced, mashed, and punched (tomatoes in to the jar), and ate pizza.  We stood on our feet from 9am until 5:30pm canning, waiting and doing everything we needed to do in order to get our jars filled to the brim with wonderful fruit and some light syrup.  Melissa wanted to use Splenda in her jars, so we did that type of a syrup as well.  I had never before canned with a sugar substitute, but they look just the same and I am sure taste exactly the same.  We will find out sooner rather than later.  Noel wanted to open a jar last night, but for some reason he ended up with some vanilla ice cream and a slice of blueberry pie… well  someone had to eat it.  Thanks babe!  Now, I don’t have to.  Nor will it stare at me all day long begging me to eat it.  Whew.

Noel was golfing with his Dad, his brother Curtis, and Tim while all the ladies were canning, so it was just a nice, simple day, for the both of us.  Mine was a little more productive than his, but none the less, we both had great days!  Kellan came up with me to do our canning, and he did pretty good.  He sure missed his Jumperoo that we have at home, but overall he was a good lil’ boy.  We all took turns holding him on our hips or entertaining him and lil’ boy sure loved being around his Grandma and Aunties for the afternoon.  None of our jars broke, thank god (I swear my pot was cursed, but after yesterday and having zero jars break… it no longer has that damn curse, hallelujah!).

Some photos I managed to take, wish I took more, but I didn’t really have a spare minute to capture all of our canning duties…

 

Leave a Reply

