smiles and laughter

It is fall.  Yes, it is fall.  The season has finally graced us with its presence.  The air is a tad cooler, the mornings are definitely a little chilly (as are nights), the sun sets sooner, and the mornings get brighter earlier.  I do not like that last part.  I enjoy a dark morning, and when I hear my little boy stirring in the morning, the sun is so damn bright I feel like I am in a tanning bed, and then remember it is in fact morning time, get moving.  It used to be so nice: slowly waking up, stretching my legs out, and getting out of my warm bed.  Now, this is what happens:  I hear Kellan, spring up to a 90 degree angle, flip the covers off, and run like a bat outta hell to the next room, then quietly and gently open up his door and say in an oh so sweet angelic voice “goodmorning my little angel”… he appreciates the voice.  I do to.  It reminds me to slow down and be quiet and calm.  He  doesn’t want some robot running in there, lifting him up outta his crib and exclaiming “RAW HIDE!”  This is what Noel used to do to wake me up in the mornings… I dread those words.  Actually it is a song, so he would chant, “Get ’em up, move ’em out, RAW HIDE!”  No thank you.  I do like mornings though, because this is when Kellan is the most cuddliest, and it means another day I get to spend with my lil’ boy.  Another day full of surprises.  Another day full of smiles and laughter.  What did I do without him?  He brings so much joy to my life.  Noel and I usually chat about what he did during the day, then we talk about our lil’ boy and how his day & my day went, and it is always something new.  I like that.  You never know what is going to happen when you have a baby in the house.  I need that in my life.  I like routines, I like knowing what is exactly going to happen during my day, but since having Kellan all that has changed.  I like not-knowing.  I like not planning my entire day.  I like winging it.  Although we do run our errands and do things around the house that needs to be done, it is not as important as spending time with Kellan and watching him grow and learn new things.  Baby fever anyone?  I’ve got it!  I’ve got it bad!!  (Ahem, Noel…)

Leave a Reply

