whole-nother level

Just a typical week went by again.  Running errands, grocery shopping, a major Costco run, and a few stops at our local coffee shop.  It, however, was an unbearable week, baby-wise.  I have mentioned before that Kellan is teething, but this teething thing took it to a whole-nother level.  Crying spells, nothing to soothe, not eating enough during “meal time” so, cranky pants a short while later.  I tried everything.  Car rides, walks around our neighborhood, rocking, swaddling, feeding, burping, soothing-talking, baths… you name it, I tried it.  I felt un-easy about my Mommy skills.  Then after having a long talk with my sister-in-law, my Mother and my wonderful husband, they all reassured me that I am doing everything right, it’s just sometimes babies will fuss and fuss and cry and cry and you can’t control it or do anything to help them.  Babes cry.  I know this, don’t think I don’t, it’s just with Kellan, he is not a crier.  So, per say, I have never had to endure these crying spells, EVER, until his teeth started coming through.  And since his bottom two teeth have arrived, I would say that he has had these crying spells a few times.  Well to me, it feels like a million times.  I am sure every Mommy out there can agree with me in that, if your babe is crying for say 3-5 minutes, it feels like an hour.

I want to be the best Mommy I can be to my sweet little boy, and when I can’t console him or help him, and he is continuing to cry and I see those giganto tears streaming down his little cheeks, it breaks my heart.  Literally.

I am hoping that this weekend, lil’ boy has some better days and hopefully plenty of naps and rest so he can get to feeling better.  Sweet boy.  Mommy loves you!

Leave a Reply

