“safe landing”

We got snow!  And not just a little snowfall, like two feet of snow!!  Up at our home (we live up on a mountain) it has snowed for the past three days straight.  Sure there have been tiny spurts of no snow action, but it has been pretty constant.  Everyone driving in town has been going at last 10 mph under the speed limit, getting into car accidents, and even though our beautiful city gets all four seasons, it’s like they have never driven in snow before.  Seriously people?  It’s just a little snow.  I love it!  Kellan loves it!  Its awesome!!  Luckily for us, Noel doesn’t have a problem with shoveling snow.  He does it with a smile on his face, and comes in and yells up to me “Can you make me some hot cocoa please, I’m almost done”… you betcha babe!  I love my husband!  He takes such good care of our family!!

*****

Now, because I have been ubber-busy this week with checking off my “to-do” list, and spending some quality time with my sister and her two babies, I have put my blog on the back burner.  Therefore, my sincere apologies.  A girls gotta do what a girls gotta do.  And I will always spend time with my family before writing.  Although I have missed it.  I love getting the chance to describe my day or a weekend with all of you.  I love writing.  I have come to the conclusion, that I will try to do it all.  But how does a Mom do this?  How do you do it all?  Simple answer:  no one can.  As much as we try, we can never completely do it all.  We try & sadly we fail.  If you give a little more in one area, you fall down in another.  Time management and a little give and take and we shall succeed.

*****

Little boy has been standing up on everything.  And I mean EVERYTHING!  The couches, the safety gate, the bath-tub, the dishwasher, even the hamper… what to do?  I have devised a way for little boy to keep on exploring and doing what he does, but with a little help from yours truly.  He gets up, stands there, has fun, then his little legs start squirming and he looks up at me like “help me down Mom, pretty please”, so I tell him “Safe landing”.  Safe landing is something I created (cuz I’m a genius) for my little boy to try to understand, and it means that he can have a safe landing if he just lets go and simply falls back on his butt.  There’s cushion on it for a reason, right?  Sometimes I help him, but for the most part, I tell him “safe landing little booboo” and down he plops.  I congratulate him and praise him for doing it all by himself, so he continues to do this by himself.  Sometimes he stands there, with one hand in the air, the other gripping tightly to sturdy surface he has stood up on, and looks at me, and I just look at him like “you can do it!”, and he does.  Little baby einstein.  I just love him!

Leave a Reply

