I won!

Last week was a bit of a dragger, in my opinion.  Kellan and I did stay busy, whether it be running simple errands, canning 12 jars of applesauce (don’t forget all the peeling, coring, and slicing that accompanies this project), going for our walks around our neighborhood, and a trip to our local library.  Noel had to travel down to Finley twice last week, which meant basically four days without him.  Lord how we miss him when he is gone.  Sure I miss his help also, but Kellan and I sort of look at each other like, “Well, what do we do now?”  I am glad that he came home on Thursday evening, and has been home every day and night since then.

*****

Friday was a busy day for me.  Lil’ boy and I went to a ladies luncheon at my mother in law’s home.  It was lovely.  As soon as we walked through her doors, I could smell something amazing cooking.  (She is a fabulous cook!)  I got excited as to what we were going to eat for our soup & sandwich combo.  It was french onion soup and roast beef sandwiches with a blue cheese spread and some romaine lettuce.  Just right!  I ate three sandwiches (halves people, not whole, I’m not that much of a piglet), and two bowls of the soup.  Kellan LOVED the soup!  He couldn’t get it fast enough.  My two sister in laws came out, grandma (in law), Pam (the hostess) and of course lil’ boy and myself were all in attendance.  We always have such a beautiful time, just chatting about anything and everything, watching Kellan (eat, play, stand alone & attempt to walk), and laugh.  Pam decided that we should have a ladies luncheon once a month, and rotate who has everyone over to their home.  Yes please!  Although we all live in the same town, it seems like I only get to see them once a month.  So, just seeing the ladies for one extra day and chatting, smiling and giggling about our latest “mommy stories” is something I would of course love to be part of!  Good idea Pam!

*****

This weekend we had a lot going on.  I love that.  Noel used to dread me planning things during our weekend, but now I think he appreciates it.  We always have something to do.  Our local hockey team is called the Wenatchee Wild.  Noel and I had ourselves season tickets last year, but due to our brand new baby boy, we thought we had better skip that for his first year.  However, on Saturday morning, my friend and Wild announcer Jeremy Anders, posted that he was giving away two free tickets to Saturday night’s game.  I immediately entered the drawing, and guess what?  I won!  I never win anything.  Noel was a little apprehensive as to what Kellan would do (since game time is at 7:05pm, and his bed time is around 7:30pm).  It was tough getting out the door, and I saw Noel’s face get a little scrunched up, he was nervous I could tell.  Then we arrived at the rink, Kellan was asleep and we both looked at each other.  What do we do?  Go home and miss this golden opportunity?  Or, get Kellan up out of his carseat, brave the cold, and see what he will do?  There was no question, Noel and I looked at each other and said, okay let’s go!  So, we made it to the game, we stayed for almost the entire game (we left with 10 minutes to go in the 3rd period) and Kellan didn’t complain once!  It was a fabulous evening, and yet again, we proved to ourselves, hey we can do this.

*****

Kellan is learning how to share.  Because he is the only child right now, this has been something I have wanted Kellan to know how to do.  I try not to spoil him, I try to let him be as independent as possible, but sharing is something that I find to be very important.  And I think we are doing a pretty good job at it too…

{Exhibit a, b, c, d & e}

Now, when he shares Noel and I are so eager and ready to say “Good share!”

*****

One of my good friends, Jami, threw her daughter, Kiana, a birthday party on Sunday.  Kiana’s actual birthday was on the 22nd, but we celebrated with a blowout regardless the day.  Jami is an amazing Mommy.  She always has huge birthday parties, with food platters, balloons, decoraions, themes, the works!  This party was a Hawaii theme so we ventured down to one our local hotels, and experience the water while it snowed outside.  Noel swam in the pool with lil’ boy, Kellan is such a little water guppie, and then we got out, ate some pizza & cupcakes, watched Kiana open up all her presents, and sang the good ol’ Happy Birthday song. It was such a nice party, and I am thankful to have such good friends in my life who are amazing parents.  Well done Jami, well done!

{yes, it was a FULL pool!}

{the birthday girl}

{Jami’s other daughter & husband with my lil’ boy & Noel… yes they are kissing}

{lil’ boy looking all shocked by his little smoocheroo}

We had a beautiful weekend, just like every weekend!  Here’s to having a good week my friends!!

Leave a Reply

