Happy Birthday Sweetheart!

Last Friday, the date looked me in the eye:  March 30, 2012.  I was nervous for this day to appear, but when it happened, nothing but joy overwhelmed my day because it was my first-born son’s very first birthday!  I laid out his birthday present, a wooden train, and heard him rustling around in his crib.  I went in to get him and was so excited to tell him “Happy Birthday Sweetheart!”, he looked up at me and smiled, like he knew, but I know he just smiles because he sees his Momma… we went downstairs and he immediately saw his train and wanted down to play with it.  Kellan doesn’t really play with things at first, he grabs them and tosses them behind his shoulder.  This is exactly what he did.  After he got out his excitement, I tried showing him what you do with a train, but he just looked at me and continued with his throwing.  Silly boy.  One day he will learn what to do, but right now he is content in just tossing them around.  Fine by me.  No harm, no foul.

I decided I would take pictures and record his day with our video camera, and I certainly fulfilled my goal.  Our day went like this:

We went to Kellan’s one year old wellness check-up appointment in the morning, and I was anxious to know what his new stats were.  Here they are:

-Weight:  25 pounds (80%)

-Height:  30.75 inches (100%)

-Head Circumference:  18  (31%)

He has never been in the 100% of anything yet, so this was exciting news!  My little boy is growing and thriving… thank goodness!  Oh and he had four shots, yeah, forgot that part.  Not happy about that, but I guess he has to have them… his next appointment is at 18 months, so thankfully we don’t have to deal with those nasty shots for another 6 months.

{I made sure to put on loose pants for lil’ boy today, so he yes they are a tad baggy…}

{Oh yes, here I am… forgot I took this until I uploaded his birthday photos…}

Daddy finally came home for the day, and we decided to go out for Kellan’s first birthday dinner… we landed at The Olive Garden… he loves that place!!

That’s how we spent Kellan’s first birthday!  It was a beautiful day, I will remember every moment of it, but just in case I took a million pictures and used up our entire recording capacity on our video camera.  Yeah that’s right.  I’m one of those Mom’s, damn proud of it too!!  I love you little booboo!  I couldn’t be more proud of you and all the things you have learned how to do in your first year… 365 days… a whirlwind of a year!

Leave a Reply

