Plus it always smells like home.

Woke up this morning, realizing that I let another day go by without writing.  Not only does writing clear my mind, but it gives me my own time.  I have the freedom to express my feelings however I chose to do.  I am in need of some venting, some happy thoughts will surface, I just know it… ahh yes, last Sunday!!!

We have been having a pretty eventful week so far.  Sunday was spent over at my parents house for a BBQ.  I love going to my parents home.  I feel like a kid again, I get kissed and hugged as soon as I walk in the front door.  They see Kellan and wanna grab him out of my arms.  They see Noel and ask, “So what do you think of the Cup so far?”  I just love it over there.  Plus Kellan always get to see his two Uncles.  They dote on him and always rub the top of his head with a soft sweep, and now that Kellan can walk, he always wants to go in their rooms and just hang out with them.  Plus it always smells like home.  I grew up with that smell and I love it.  I just feel so at peace and calm at their house.  But yes, we had a wonderful BBQ.  My Dad makes the best chicken on the Q, lets it slowly marinate, sprinkles some Johnny salt on those thighs and lets them cook.  Slowly and tenderly and after 30 minutes or so, he takes them off, leaving the fresh smell of a cooked BBQ for others to take a whiff of, grabs the plate of chicken and into the house they go.  Mom made her famous broccoli and brussel sprouts in the oven, a snazzy green salad, and I brought some rosemary bread.  Then for dessert I made a pound cake with fresh sliced strawberries and whipped cream.  It was delicious!  Sunday family dinners with my family is what makes this girl happy!!

As our family grows, it makes me so happy.  So excited to get to share this special time in my life with my parents, my three brothers and my sister & her family… I mean the only thing I need in my life is my husband, Kellan, and our little peanut on the way.  I feel so blessed.  I feel like a girl who can say, “I’ve got it all.”  Honestly, what more could I ask for?

Leave a Reply

