sheet of powder

We finally woke up to snow! After all it is December, right people? Our valley usually gets an abundance of snow, and by now usually the ground has been covered with that beautiful white stuff for a while… But no, not this year. So when I woke up yesterday morning and we had a sheet of powder gazing back at us I thought, yes!! I can finally tell Kellan what it is. You see last year he was to young to understand, but this year I knew he would get it.

IMG_5235 IMG_5237 IMG_5238I got myself out of my warm bed, went into his room and he was pointing up at me saying “Mama”, I couldn’t control my giddyness so I chuckled. Then I went over to the window gently pulled the drapes to the side, and lifted up the blinds, went back and picked Kellan up and pointed outside. He looked at me with my mouth wide open and he mimicked me. His jaw dropped and he looked outside. I told him “That’s snow booboo”, he replied, “hhsnOw”… Mr. Smartypants could say snow! Hallelujah!

We walked downstairs and he ran over to the window by the Christmas tree and pointed and kept on saying “hhsnOw, hhsnOw”, to which I replied, “Yes Kellan thats right, that IS snow”. Children need positive affirmation, and I was sure as heck gunna do that. Then, i though to myself, what would go good with our snowy morning? Homemade cinnamon rolls of course. So I started baking. I will share this recipe with you because they were oooey-gooey and tasted like heaven.

Cinnamon Rolls

Makes: 10-12 rolls

Ingredients:

Dough:

2 cups flour

2 TBSP sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 TBSP unsalted butter

¾ cup milk

Filling:

4 TBSP unsalted butter

1 cup brown sugar or 1 cup white sugar

3 tsp cinnamon

Glaze:

½ cup powdered sugar

¼ cup milk

 Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. For the filling, in a small bowl combine softened butter, brown sugar and cinnamon to form a crumbly mixture (use a fork).
  3. Spray the bottom of a round 9” baking pan with Pam Butter spray.  Then sprinkle ½ the mixture over the bottom of the 9” pan.
  4. In a large bowl mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  5. Cut in softened butter.
  6. Stir in the milk to form a soft dough.
  7. Roll out the dough on a lightly floured surface.  Try to make it into a rectangle about ¼ inch thick.
  8. Spread the remaining filling on the rolled out dough.
  9. Roll up the rectangle, with a sharp knife slice into 10-12 small rolls.
  10. Bake for 22 minutes.
  11. For glaze, combine powdered sugar and milk in a small bowl and stir until smooth.
  12. Once rolls are finished, drizzle on glaze and serve warm.

Might I suggest you make these for Christmas morning?  They are quick to whip up and your babies will love them!  I plan on doing this for my family.  Just a thought.  Enjoy.

One thought on “sheet of powder

Leave a Reply

